

Melbourne University Soccer Club

Building 103, University of Melbourne, VIC 3010 Consumer Affairs #A0025954L ABN 22 951 070 200

2023 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Room 161, Building 148a, The University of Melbourne, VIC 3010 and online via Zoom on Tuesday 5 December 2023 at 6:30pm

MINUTES (Unconfirmed)

Chair: Michael Owen (MO), President

1. Welcome

The meeting was opened by Michael Owen at 6:38pm.

A quorum was confirmed.

MO acknowledged the traditional owners of the lands on which the meeting was being conducted.

Members present and eligible to vote:

Andrew Bowman, Andrew Bullen, Angela Christian-Wilkes, Arman Arethna, Brydie Siryj, Carlo Di Gregorio, Cat Hoang, Daisy Collett, Dan Ginger, Hannah Sawkins, Helena Tan, Ian Johnson, Ilona Jakab, Jordon English, Kevin Li, Lachlan Boughton, Lana V Prameswari, Liz Stevens, Luis Pflaumer, Maddie Russo, Melvin Thancanamootoo, Michael Owen, Nicola Vincent, Nicolette Ciccarelli, Petros Kapoulitsas, Philip Aitken, Reynold Wong, Sasha Naidoo, Simon Leversha, Sofia Ramirez Martinez, Vince Massara, Xavier Butcher, Yifei Wang.

Members attending via proxy and eligible to vote (grouped by proxy holder): Matilda Myers, Rebecca Ye, Elissa Stratus (B Siryj); Anthony Tran, Boaz Fraser, Eliot Johnson, James Pasztor, Joe Eastham, Jun Zhang, Louis Parsons, Martin Jones, Nathan Scott, Oliver Arthur-Andrews, Ripley Scott, Zachary Hollo (C Di Gregorio); Chelsie Kagan, Daisy Scriven, Elena Reid, Emer Reynolds, Kris Molloy, Lydia Alford, Nina Bron, Shannon Flower, Talia Westley (N Ciccarelli); Andrew Walton, Connor Gaffney, Connor McAuliffe, Lehner Yezid Diaz, Mike Pauw, Rhonan Davies (D Ginger); Allegra Scappa, Andrea Granados, Hue Lim (H Tan); Ebru Efe, Jacqui Brotchie, Lauren Thompson (I Jakab); James Cameron (L Boughton); Tim Nigg (M Thancanamootoo); Christian Bianchi, Matthew Wilson, Drew McMullin, Mat Kelly, Charlie Hart, Sean Miranda, James Robinson (M Owen); Annastasia Leonedas, Edan MacCartney (Sasha Naidoo); Adam Jordan, Christian Long, Declan Hayes, Jack Wood, Mitchell Ralston (V Massara).

2. Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting

Motion: To approve the minutes of the 2022 AGM as distributed. *Moved: Michael Owen. Seconded: Sasha Naidoo. The motion was carried.*

3. Activities of the Association for the Preceding Year

Michael Owen spoke of the activities of the association for the preceding financial year.

4. 2023 Financial Statement

The 2023 Financial Statement was tabled (attached as Appendix 1).

Michael Owen provided an overview of the statement.

The floor was opened for questions and comments about the club's finances. A brief discussion ensued regarding the purpose of the club's sub-fund in the MU Sport Foundation Chapter. No decisions or actions arose from this discussion.

Motion: That the annual financial statements give a true and fair view of the financial performance and position of MUSC for the financial year ending 15 October 2023. *Moved: Michael Owen. Seconded: Sasha Naidoo. The motion was carried.*

5. Election of the Directors

Michael Owen thanked the Board of Directors for their efforts over the past year and announced that Cat Hoang, Ellie Acevedo and Lachlan Boughton were not seeking reelection as Directors. MO thanked them for their contributions.

All Director positions were declared vacant.

President:

Michael Owen was the sole nominee for President. No additional nominations were received. Michael Owen was declared elected.

Directors:

Six nominations were received for the Director positions. Each nominee was confirmed eligible under the constitution, and no additional nominations were received. All six nominees were declared elected.

The 2023-24 Board of Directors:

- Michael Owen (President)
- Carlo Di Gregorio
- Dan Ginger
- Helena Tan

- Neslihan Ozergen
- Reynold Wong
- Sasha Naidoo

It was noted that one vacancy remained and was likely to be filled by either Brydie Siryj or Nicolette Ciccarelli.

Office Bearers:

- Vice President: Sasha Naidoo (sole nominee)
- Secretary: Helena Tan (sole nominee)
- Treasurer: Reynold Wong (sole nominee)

The new Board will confirm these roles as its first order of business.

Motion: That Michael Owen, Sasha Naidoo, Nez Ozergen and Reynold Wong be given authorisation to operate the club's bank accounts. *Moved: Michael Owen. Seconded: Sasha Naidoo. The motion was carried.*

6. Expressions of interest for other roles

Michael Owen outlined opportunities for further involvement in club operations, including plans to establish a Player Advisory Group in 2024.

7. Other Business

Sasha Naidoo spoke about developing women's social opportunities in 2024 and provided an update on volunteer investment initiatives.

A brief discussion occurred about the club's utilisation of Princes Park.

8. Meeting Close

Michael Owen thanked members for their attendance.

The meeting was closed at 7:50 pm.

Signed	(Chair)	(Date)
--------	---------	--------

Appendices

Appendix 1 – 2023 Financial Statement

Appendix 2 – Submission of financial statements to annual general meeting

Appendix 3 – Schedule 1, Regulation 15, Form 1